Munya gazettes cooperatives Task Force

By Roy Hezron

The National Co-operative Policy Operationalization (NCPO) Tasks-force has officially become operational after its members were gazetted.

The tasksforce which was constituted by the Cabinet Secretary Agriculture Livestock Fisheries and Co-operatives Peter Munya will have 15 members and is expected to submit its report to the CS within 90 days from the date of gazettement (December 18, 2020).

It is mandated to initiate and develop a framework for Implementation of the national co-operatives policy interventions, review of co-operative legislations, institutional reforms and capacity Building.

The team is chaired by Dr. Nelson Kuria who is also a council member of the Kenya Society of Professional Co-operators (KSPC).

Other members are Moses Munaki Nabea and Alexander Nyamai Mutisya (Independent Members), Prof. Esther Gicheru Deputy Vice-Chancellor Co-operative University of Kenya (CUK), representing the university.

The team also includes Ms. Rosemary Githaiga from Co-operative Alliance of Kenya, Mr. Geoffery Njang’ombe, the Commissioner for Co-operatives from the State Department of Co-operatives (SDC), and Mr. Francis Kamande, the Chairman of National Cooperative Housing Union.

Messrs Joseph Kung’u and Gilbert Ndemo will sit in the taskforce representing Council of Governors, while Jeremiah Were and Richard Nyakenogo represent Sacco Societies Regulatory Authority (SASRA) and Co-operative Insurance Company (CIC) respectively.

Mercy Njeru and Eliud Nzola represent Kenya Union of Savings and Credit Co-operatives (KUSCO) and Co-operative Bank respectively, while David Obonyo and Ms. Joyce Nkirote serve as Joint Secretaries from the State Department of Co-operatives.

Sharing is caring!

Not Allowed