50 new cooperative societies registered in Taita Taveta

Taita Taveta County Cooperative Commissioner Erastus Gonzi. File photo

Some 50 new cooperative societies have been registered in Taita Taveta County, Sacco Review has established.

Speaking to Sacco Review in Voi town recently, County Cooperative Commissioner Erastus Gonzi said that the 50 new cooperatives were registered between September last year and early April this year.

He further stated that 10 dormant cooperative societies in the county have been set for revival.

He however disclosed that the dormant cooperative societies in the county will be revived on gradual basis since there is no special allocation set aside for the revival of the same, except the county is relying heavily on the re-current allocation which is not enough to revive all the dormant cooperative societies in the region.


FOPPS Sacco, Co-operative Bank partner on Last Expense Policy Cover

“There are a total of 303 registered cooperative societies in the county with a current membership of 99,800 members”, said Gonzi.

He asked county residents to cooperate fully and join cooperative societies in large numbers and invest heavily to improve their economic status.

He also asked cooperative societies in the region to embrace cooperative model for their economic growth and the growth of the economy of the county.

By Tsozungu Kombe

Get more stories from our website: Sacco Review

For comments and clarifications, write to: Saccoreview@shrendpublishers.co.ke

Kindly follow us via our social media pages on Facebook: Sacco Review Newspaper for timely updates

Stay ahead of the pack! Grab the latest Sacco Review newspaper!

Sharing is caring!

Not Allowed