Team to set up single sector regulator named


May 8, 2017

By Our Reporter.

National Treasury Cabinet Secretary Henry Rotich has appointed a Steering Committee that will establish the Financial Sector Authority (FSA) and oversee the merger of all financial regulatory authorities into one
In a Gazette Notice Vol CXVIII No 143, dated November 18, 2016, members of the Steering Committee include Principal Secretary, National Treasury – (Chairperson), Principal Secretary, State Department for Co-operatives, Ministry of Industry, Trade and Co-operatives, Director-General, Budget, Fiscal and Economic Affairs- the National Treasury and Representative of Chief of Staff, the Presidency.
Others are Solicitor-General, State Law Office, Secretary/Chief Executive Officer, State Corporations Advisory Committee, Governor, Central Bank of Kenya, Chief Executive Officer, Capital Markets Authority, Chief Executive Officer and Insurance Regulatory AuthorityChief Executive Officer.
Also in the team are;Retirement Benefits Authority Chief Executive Officer, Sacco Societies Regulatory Authority,Director, Financial and Sectoral Affairs in the National Treasury and the Financial Services Authority Director of Implementation, National Treasury.
The Secretariat of the Steering Committee shall be at the National Treasury and shall be headed by the Financial Services Authority Director of Implementation and comprise of staff appointed from CMA, IRA, RBA, SASRA and any other person whom the Steering Committee considers necessary, to carry out technical work, day today operational and administrative duties in support of the Steering Committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *